Cover Art Deja Vu

I recently cataloged some new YA fiction and included in the bunch was the title The Ruining by Anna Collomore. The cover of this book has a large mansion in the background and a young woman’s half-submerged profile in the foreground. Yesterday, I glimpsed a new Non-fiction title in my coworker’s office titled Shouting Won’t Help: Why I– and 40 Million Other Americans — Can’t Hear You by Katherine Bouton. It has a cloudy sky in the background and a young woman’s half-submerged profile in the foreground. I thought to myself how similar it looked to the YA book I had just added to the collection. Today as I was walking past the new books in the teen area I saw The Ruining again and was really struck by the similarity between the covers. So I went searching for the other and lo and behold, they are the same.

Side by Side Comparison

I have read blog articles about this kind of phenomenon but have never personally stumbled upon two (mostly) identical covers like this. Let alone two books published in the same month. I am very glad that these two books will be displayed in different parts of the library, so that people won’t be turned off or confused by the similarity of the covers.

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

