Internship Day 9

Alphabet wood puzzle

I spent a full day at the library today. From 9am until 1:30pm I worked on organizing the board books I’ve reviewed into categories, trying to narrow it down to about 25 categories with at least 3 books each. With Karen’s help I have a good working list for categories and can go ahead and start making decisions about the specific titles to be included in each. Then at 1:30 I met with Karen and Leah about redesigning the early literacy portion of the library webpage to reflect new material and a new design. I’m going to come up with some language and Leah might show me how to make the edits. Then, from 3 until 5 I continued work on the reference collection evaluation project I’ve been given by Monica. Busy, busy.

I’m really loving my internship. For the next two weeks I plan to make a set list of board books for the 25 categories, do some research for CDs and finger puppets or toys to include, and think of a creative way to differentiate the new early literacy kits from the current collection (for ages 3 and up). I will come up with the language to use on the early literacy webpage, and I hope to finish the first step in the reference collection project.

(reference internship hours completed: 20 of 75)
(YS internship hours completed: 18 of 75)

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

