Internship Day 8

I should probably think of a new way of titling these internship posts. Then again, it will be interesting to see how many days I end up with. Anyways, today I was on the reference desk for 4 hours with Monica. As a result of some internal restructuring and new allocation of library departments, Monica is the new ReferenceDirector of Reference Services and librarian in charge of the nonfiction section. As such, she is now in charge of the remaining 57 hours of the reference portion of my internship. In order to give me a better understanding of what librarians do, she’s allowing me to assist her on a project to reevaluate all of the library’s reference resources, print and electronic. She’s starting me with the reference books that are on automatic order such that when a new version comes out, we get the new volume (like Guinness Book of World Records, exam prep guides, almanacs, etc). I looked at about 30 books today comparing them to our online databases and free online resources to see if they are redundant. I’m excited to be part of this project because I’m going to be learning about an important part of collection development and assessment.

(reference internship hours completed: 18 of 75)

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

