Internship Day 5

I shadowed Heather on the reference desk this morning. As the Director of Patron Services and the librarian in charge of the circulation desk, I learned some new tricks for searching our library catalog in Polaris. Heather gave me a lot of examples to help me learn and remember. I also watched as she used Novelist to perform reader’s advisory, retrieved some books that patrons called to request, and found an online map resource for someone looking for a topographic map of Onondaga County, NY. I was also able to help a patron with her new Kindle. I showed her how to turn it on and off, explained the difference between sleep mode and completely off, and even answered a question about her iPod battery life (I was on a roll!). Heather also pointed me to some online resources that the Onondaga County Public Library system put together. I had some fun exploring Dead People Server and Flamingnet especially. My plan is to shadow on the back reference desk next time.

(reference internship hours completed: 12 of 75)

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

