School Media

We had two guest speakers in our IST511 class last night. Both are school media librarians. The first speaker, Sue Kowalski, is a middle school librarian. Hearing her speak about her experience in the school library makes me wish I had spent more time in my school libraries in grade school. My memories of school libraries are all from elementary school when we would go and sit on the floor and listen to Brer Rabbit records. The second speaker, Buffy Hamilton, is a high school librarian. She had a very well constructed powerpoint presentation, but because she was presenting via Skype and I couldn’t see her as she was speaking, I didn’t feel as connected to her. Professor Lankes warned us that as we have presenters speaking about the different kinds of librarians, we will want to be that kind of librarian. It’s true. I want to be Sue Kowalski.

I look forward to next week and wanting to become another kind of librarian.

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

