Definitions

In all of my classes so far there has been some talk about the definition of a library and a librarian and everyone has a different answer. In IST511 class last night, Professor Dave Lankes made a comment that really struck me. He said that it is more important for the community you serve to define you as a librarian than for you to define yourself. I think that is true for both libraries and librarians. To be a specific type of librarian you must be able to embody the values of that type and be recognized by others. I can tell myself that I am the queen of the world but without others recognizing me as such, am I really the queen? Libraries are the same. If people define a library as a building full of books, then that is what a library is. But if we define a library as more than books and buildings; as a community, a conversation, a safe environment, freedom to access information, and a way to develop knowledge, then that is what a library is. As a future librarian I hope to change the definition of a library for the people in whatever community I serve.

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

Leave a Reply

