Introductions

When I decided to apply for graduate school, everyone wanted to know what I would be studying. I would sometimes feel embarrased by the reactions when I said library and information science. Most people define the library by the function. Even I have fallen to that fault. But after Dave Lankes’s motivating lecture about the history of librarianship and the importance of the librarian I am proud to say, “My name is Margaret Portier and I want to become a Librarian.”

Now I can explain why being a librarian is so awesome. It doesn’t just mean I like books, have cats, and wear ugly cardigans. It means I will improve society through facilitating knowledge creation in my community.

Published by

margaretportier

I am a teen librarian. I am a learner of things and a doer of doings.

2 thoughts on “Introductions”

  1. Margaret, so sadly true isn’t it? When I would tell people about what I was studying an all to common response was “You need a masters degree for that?” As students and later as professionals I feel part of our job will be explaining to people around us what our job is exactly, and how we can be involved in their communities.

Leave a Reply

