Pretty flower

School Visits

It’s nearing the end of the school year here in central New York and that means it is time for school visits. As the teen librarian at a public library, I reached out to the middle and high schools trying to arrange either for me to visit the school or for the students to visit the library to learn about what resources we have and to talk about the summer reading program. Ideally, I would love to collaborate with the local schools on our summer reading program. In all, I was able to arrange for four 6th grade classes to visit the library. That’s it. I will be trying harder much earlier next year. So anyways, at these visits, Heather gets up and talks about responsibilities of library card ownership and then together we talk about the fun and awesome things you can do in the library over the summer (and all the time).

The four classes that visited the library came to the library knowing about books and dvds and music, but they left knowing they can use a 3D printer, play video games, volunteer, borrow an iPad, and play Minecraft. Mission accomplished: 107 minds blown. I know this is a little weird, and a lot of other librarians and human adults in general will not believe me, but, I like middle school aged teens. They are so cool. They have so much potential for enthusiasm without being too weighed down with the politics of student social hierarchies.

They also really loved the idea of earning badges by participating in our summer reading program. More on that later…

One thought on “School Visits”

  1. That’s great Margaret! I was excited to see the public children’s librarian in my area is looking to collaborate with me already! Good luck kicking off the summer reading program!

Leave a Reply

